Firsts – ‘The Orchestra’

I think that as we get older, we experience fewer firsts.

This weekend, I experienced a new first in a while: the opportunity to attend an orchestra.

I have to admit that I was not thrilled at the invite. My friend was the excited one; she had been planning this for weeks. On the bus ride to the swanky school the orchestra was being hosted at, I asked her, “What’s an orchestra like? Do they just play music or is it sort of a play? Is it like Phantom of the Opera?”

I anticipated scenes amassed from several movies – a cold, dark theatre with endless compositions and some poor man somewhere in the crowd sulking because his girlfriend dragged him there. I thought, surely people only say they like classical music to appear cultured.

Nevertheless, I went with an open mind. And because I am a writer and a movie-watcher, it was magical. I kept wondering what it would be like to bask in that atmosphere and type out a screenplay. It was one of the most pure, inspiring ordeals.

I’m not exactly a classical music fan, yet. But I’m no longer uncultured swine, either.

 

 

xo-nina

 

P.S. Here’s a video (not mine) of the same orchestra playing in February of this year.

 

 

Leave a Reply

