Flowers For My Crown

Note to My Younger Self – Or, any college freshman, really.

part-3-you-got-in-how-to-survive-grad-school-s09SBM-clipart.png

 

After five long years – yes, five – I graduate with a BA in Communications next June.

You might have some questions like “why five?” and “what the hell do you do with a Communications degree anyway?” My Mom definitely had some questions, and after coming to my senses and prioritizing, I realize I do too.

Like, when I started college, why did I party so much?

So here are the main tips I have for any high school graduate looking into going to college or any college freshman who’s still finding their footing.

  1. If it’s hard to pay attention in class, switch off your phone or close your laptop. THIS. I never realized how much more attention I pay when my phone is off. This works when I’m doing homework, too. When my phone is off, there’s no temptation to check Instagram or other social media.
  2. Go to bed at a decent time. My parents were relatively strict, so throughout my childhood all up until high school, they expected me to be in bed by 8 PM. Yikes! So when I moved away for college, I took advantage of the fact no one was there to hound me about my sleeping schedule. But after a few years of staying up all night writing papers, I learned to cherish my sleep. Personally, I go to bed between 10 and 11 every night, no matter what time I have to wake up the next day. Find time to sleep!
  3. Have a to-do list. If your professor or lecturer gives course outlines or syllabuses at the beginning of class, take advantage of that. Note down every assignment you’re expected to hand in, just so you know what the semester has in store for you. You don’t want to be blind-sided.
  4. Actually study. This is another thing I learned too late. I never struggled with school until I got to college. I graduated high school with honors, barely missing the mark of Salutorian. It gave me the delusion that I didn’t need to study. How wrong I was! Set aside time to go over your notes – either every day after class – or a few times a week. It makes a difference. And if you have a short attention span like me, I found that chewing gum really helps me focus more.

 

So, I can’t go back in time and tell myself these things. But if you’re just starting college, take this into consideration!

 

xo-nina

Leave a Reply

